Data Summary

Dome Fuji, Antarctica 1993 Shallow Core 1 cm Electrical Conductivity Measurements (ECM)
Supplement to : Watanabe, O.; Shimada, W.; Narita, H.; Miyamoto, A.; Tayuki, K.; Hondoh, T.; Kawamura, T.; Fujita, S.; Shoji, H.; Enomoto, H.; Kameda, T.; Kawada, K.; Yokoyama, K. 1997, Preliminary discussion of physical properties of the Dome Fuji shallow ice core in 1993, Antarctica., Proc. NIPR Symp. Polar Meteorol. Glaciol. 11, 1-8,

  • Back
  • View Meta Data Record
  • Download

Select Version ADS


  • In 1993, the 34th wintering party of the Japanese Antarctic Research Expediton (JARE-34) conducted shallow core drilling at Dome Fuji Station, East Antarctica to make a pilot borehole for deep core drilling. Then, an ice core of 112.59 depth was recovered by electro-mechanical drill. The core was brought to the National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR: Tokyo). In 1995, core analysis was started to determine: (1) the recent circumstance of deposition process at Dome Fuji Station, and (2) the formation process of stratigraphic structure and its characteristics in a shallow layer. Chronology, chemical and physical properties are examined. The ECM signal was measured at DF 1250 V and about -15C. The data were corrected to values corresponding to -15C by use of the Arrhenius law for temperature dependence (Neftel, 1985). Density was also corrected for effects of firn density. Analogue ECM data were digitized at 1 mm intervals. After taking the moving average of 10 data, Data set was made at intervals of 1 cm.

    Dataset citation

  • Watanabe, O., W. Shimada, H. Narita, A. Miyamoto, K. Tayuki, T. Hondo, T. Kawamura, S. Fujita, H. Shoji, H. Enomoto, T. Kameda, K. Kawada, K. Yokoyama, 2015, Dome Fuji, Antarctica 1993 Shallow Core 1 cm Electrical Conductivity Measurements (ECM), 1.00, Arctic Data archive System (ADS), Japan,

    Data Download

    Download File Name Search:

    Spatial coverage

  • N:  -77.32°   S:  -77.32°   E:  38.7°   W:  38.7°  

    Temporal coverage

  • 2015-05-15   -   2015-05-15


  •  CC BY 4.0


  • Okitsugu Watanabe
    (National Institute of Polar Research)
  • Wataru Shimada
    (National Institute of Polar Research)
  • Hideki Narita
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Atsushi Miyamoto
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Kazushige Tayuki
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Tajeo Hondo
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Toshiyuki Kawamura
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Shuji Fujita
    (Hokkaido University)
  • Hitoshi Shoji
    (Kitami Institute of Technology)
  • Hiroyuki Enomoto
    (Kitami Institute of Technology)
  • Takao Kameda
    (Kitami Institute of Technology)
  • Kunio Kawada
    (Toyama University)
  • Kotaro Yokoyama
    (Hokuriku National Agriculture Experimental Station)